Theology Thursday: 1 Peter 1:8

“Though you have not seen him, you love him; and even though you do not see him now, you believe in him and are filled with an inexpressible and glorious joy”
1 Peter 1:8 NIV

How is it that I can love someone that I have never met face to face? When I think about meeting Jesus face to face and spending eternity with him, I do feel the “inexpressible and glorious joy” that Peter is writing about; but again, how is this possible?

One of two solutions are possible:

1. I am emotionally delusional – I create emotional connection where non-exists to make myself feel better and provide hope in a hopeless and empty world.

2. I have in some real sense “met Jesus” and am currently experiencing friendship with Him; a friendship that is so far beyond our earthly experience that I find myself missing someone I have never physically met.

If anyone has a third option, or even a fourth, I’d be happy to entertain the theories. Frankly if #2 is not true I have a great deal to worry about and I am definately in need of some help. And if you’re reading this and you think #2 is not true, what are you doing reading the blog of a crazy person?

Posted on May 7, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I used to think #2 was true. But look back now, I think I was more in the #1 department. I am now educating myself with the help of Sam Harris, Christopher Hitchens, and Richard Dawkins, and I feel I am on the road to recovery now from my childhood brainwashing and indoctrination. I feel so silly now when I remember all those nights talking to an invisible being to satisfy my emotional needs. I don’t think you’re crazy, but I believe it is possibly to care for needy children and oppression and hunger and charities without being a believer. I respect you because of your compassion for those things, so I will continue reading your blog despite the fact that you may be slightly delusional. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

