I’m not an idol worshipper, I’m a Christian

Idolatry is an sin that many Christians, including myself, do not believe we are guilty of. Here is how we check our lives for idols, “I don’t have a golden calf in my living room, I don’t have a little buddah statue in my garden, I’ve got my bases covered.” Or so we think.

Below is a video clip from Pastor Mark Driscoll, of Mars Hill Church in Seattle. I was deeply convicted and challenged to look at how I live my life and where I am putting my trust other than Jesus. Skip ahead to 1:15, take a few moments and watch this clip and allow the Holy Spirit to convict you of your idolatry. This is not intended to shame anyone, but to help us all be honest about who or what we put our faith in.

Watch the Video

I can tell you from personal experience that facing the truth about your sin, repenting of it and asking God to empower you by His Holy Spirit to live in obedience and trust in Jesus, can be difficult; but God is faithfull to help us, to change us, to santify us, and to comform us to the image of His son.

Posted on March 10, 2009, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I appreciate your blog and the you-tube link. The ten commandments is a schoolmaster to bring us to the knowledge of sin. Idolatry is placing anything beside God, before God or even in the same sentence as God.

    I have been reading “Hells Best Kept Secret” by Ray Comfort. May I encourage you to read it also. It not only deals with commandment #1 but all other commandments as well. I got my copy at http://www.emmaus-road.com/19331.html

    It changed the way I share the Gospel of Jesus Christ with others.

Leave a Reply

